Food: My Favorites and More

Good food is simple quote

I’ve talked about my favorite foods in bits and pieces throughout this blog. But, my thoughts behind food go deeper than my favorites. For starters, I love food. I view eating food as an experience and source of nourishment. I am a slow eater because of it. The only food I can eat quickly is cereal.

A lot of people are genuinely surprised at how little and how much food I can eat. Some days, only eating half a sandwich is enough for me. Other days, a hamburger and fries are exactly what I need. Nothing more, nothing less.

I tend to be an emotional eater. Yet, still controlled. I am extremely in tune with my body when it comes to knowing my limit. I can instantly feel when my gut says enough is enough.

I am not much of a sweets gal. In fact, I hardly ever eat sweets. I highly prefer carbs. Bread. Pasta. Pizza. Hamburgers. Fries. You name it. I prefer carbs and salty foods.

Mexican food is usually my go-to if I am in dire need of something filling and delicious. My love for chips and salsa is unexplainable. I could live off Carlos O’Kelly’s chips and guacamole. I absolutely love guacamole.

I could also live off pizza, specifically a thin crust pepperoni from Pizza Hut. I don’t typically like Pizza Hut, but they sure do offer the best thin crust I have ever consumed. It could be slightly embarrassing to admit how much I gravitate towards pizza, even if I just had some the previous day…or meal!

I also absolutely love french fries. It is rare that I say no to french fries. I love french fries so much that I have my own top three ranked list of favorites. Number one, hands down, is Freddy’s Frozen Custard fries. Then, Spangles. Then, yes, McDonald’s fries.

Overall, I prefer a shoestring fry over a fat one. I just think they taste better somehow. I can’t explain it. I don’t typically put any sauce on my fries either. That’s how much I love them. The potato alone is more than enough goodness. Nevertheless, I will occasionally make an exception for Freddy’s, only because of their one-of-a-kind sauce.

Not only can I eat fries by their lonesome, I can do the same with bread. In fact, I prefer it. I judge the quality of a bread roll based on my need or lack thereof butter. If I don’t need butter, it is an excellent roll.

Although, I will always make an exception for Cheddar’s croissant rolls. Nothing beats that buttery, flaky goodness. If you have a Cheddar’s near you, go there, and order the croissant rolls. You won’t be disappointed. It has always been worth the wait on a busy Saturday night.

It’s safe to say, I have a special place in my heart and gut for carbs. Nevertheless, I do so in proportions. I eat healthily. I try my best to be active. And I stay hydrated. Simply put, I want people to understand that, even though I love carbs, I am not a fatty person. I may not be an Olympic athlete in tip top shape. But, I do monitor my consumption.

Besides, I am always open to trying new foods. You can guarantee I will probably try a bite of something with far less hesitation than others. Although I may hesitate at first, I do still try it. After all, food is an experience. It’s not simply a blocked-out meal of my day.

My call to you is this: Eat what you love. But, do so wisely. Try new foods. Challenge your taste buds. Most importantly, do not overeat or under-eat. Listen to your body. It will tell you when you are full, even if it means leaving one bite behind.

Blessings,

Renata

Leave a Reply

