Sin was Strong: Jesus is Stronger

romans-4-25-alexa-mahan-photo-final

This year, I challenged myself to read scripture more. Furthermore, not just read more, but actually meditate on it as well. A friend of mine introduced me to this great Bible reading plan application called A Lamp Unto.

I love it because it is tailor-made and customizable to you. You can decide how often you want to read and how much. You can read chronologically, in a random order (set by the application), in a year, or on your own timeline. Right now, I have it set to read two chapters randomly, three to four days a week.

Over a month into the new year, I haven’t completely kept up with my reading, but I will say I am getting much better at it. I love that you can control the settings for the application. I know myself well enough that I won’t read every day. At least not at this point in my life. That could change. I sure hope it does one day.

At first, it was hard to admit that. But, I had to be realistic. I didn’t want to get myself back into the familiar rut of reading because I have to. Nor did I want to try to start from the beginning of Genesis and continuously stop at the same portion. I asked God to give me the desire in my heart to read. Alas, it is not each day, but it has made all the difference in my walk with the Lord.

When I do read, I like to identify a verse or two that really sticks out me and meditate on it. I also like to listen to a worship song or two after I am done reading. Recently, I read Romans 4. One verse that really stuck out to me was Romans 4:25: “He was delivered over to death for our sins and was raised to life for our justification.”

In the Christian walk, it is easy to forget just exactly what God did when He sent his Son, Jesus, down to earth as a man and predestined Him to die on a cross. When you stop and think about it, it is quite overwhelming and revering. I cannot help but be in awe of God.

It really diminishes all the problems in life when you remind yourself a perfect Savior endured death so that we, who are born in sin, did not have to die in sin and spend eternity apart from God. Rather, we could be raised to life by having a personal relationship with Jesus Christ.

A song that helps me remember the power of the verse is Raised to Life by Elevation Worship. The song declares:

Great was the debt that we owed

And how high was the price of our healing

Paid in full by the One who is worthy

Come let us worship Him

The bridge is a constant cry of my heart:

Sin was strong

But Jesus is stronger

Our shame was great

But Jesus You’re greater

There is no other way to say this. We deserved death. Each and every single one of us is born in sin. We are born in total depravity or separation from God until He draws us to Himself. It is humbling and truly gracious to have Jesus pay the price that we owe.

If it weren’t for Jesus Christ dying on a cross, none of us would stand righteous in front of God on judgment day. Yet, “Being found in appearance as a man, He humbled Himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross.” – Philippians 2:8.

Jesus Christ is worthy of our praise and adoration.

My call to you is simple: If you are a believer, take any chance you can to share the gospel. It is an amazing truth and it is the call of the Great Commission. If you do not know God personally, I am praying for you. If this is the first time, you have heard of the glorious truth that is found only in Jesus Christ, I pray that God would stir in your heart a desire to know Him personally.

Walking with God is not easy. But, it sure is wonderful and it is everlasting, even into eternity.

Blessings,

Renata

 

Leave a Reply

