Random Tidbits: Just Because

37841-i-am-still-learning-quote

It’s been awhile since I’ve committed a blog post to just telling you a few things about myself. So, here we go.

Well, I love shrimp, crab, and lobster. Although, I don’t much care for salmon or tuna. Honestly, I don’t really like fish. But, I sure do love seafood. One of the reasons why I’d love to move to San Diego tomorrow is because of the fresh seafood. Nothing beats it. Believe me.

I am a clean freak. I would not consider myself at the OCD level. But, I cannot go to bed with a dirty home. I have to tidy and pick things up before I can unwind from the day. In fact, cleaning relaxes me. Seeing a dirty space gives me anxiety. At work, I pick up my area even if I am simply going to another person’s office. There’s something about being presentable and tidy that I deeply appreciate.

Although I like things tidy and kept together, I am a procrastinator when it comes to things that need to be done. In other words, I won’t start cleaning my home until the moment I should have been in bed 10 minutes’ prior.

You know what I mean, right? You tell yourself you are going to do it. You keep making a mental note. But, it just won’t happen until…BAM! You must do it at that moment. Otherwise, you won’t be able to do anything else, regardless of the time or other commitments you may have.

Although I am like this when I clean, I am not always like this in others of my life. Take, for example, I definitely procrastinate more on my homework now than I ever did. I used to be the person who did their homework as soon as possible so I would not have to stress later. Now, I start my homework much later than I intend. This happens almost every week, too.

I think that has something to do with being busier and having more priorities now. By the time I get home from a full day at work, homework is the last thing I want to think about or do. Even working on a blog can sounds exhausting…and I love to write!

I think that has something to do with being busier and having more priorities now. By the time I get home from a full day at work, homework is the last thing I want to think about or do. Even working on a blog can sound exhausting…and I love to write!

I don’t think I was ever truly prepared for that part of adulthood—where some days you know you’ve hit your limit. You’ve done all your mind and body can handle. And it’s barely 6:00 p.m. I am hoping this will improve over time, but I honestly don’t know.

Truthfully, though, I should probably learn to say no to a few obligations and set realistic expectations for myself. I don’t mean I should lower them. I mean, I should honestly evaluate what I have to do in the allotted time. Then, decide what is most necessary.

Again, I am working on it. I am a work in progress. I am still learning who I am in God, as a person, as a wife, as a working professional, etc. The list goes on. I am constantly trying to understand and learn from my surroundings.

I hope you enjoyed learning a little about me. I know I have so much more to learn about myself. I also know I am constantly changing. I am learning to be okay with this, too.

I challenge you to pinpoint some habits or random qualities about yourself. Evaluate them. Ask yourself, is this something I could change or tweak a little bit? Is this something I am proud of?

Ask yourself tough questions. Nonetheless, never stop giving yourself grace either.

Blessings,

Renata

 

