God’s Graciousness: Finding Joy in My Passions

1-person-with-passion-quote

Earlier this week, I went to a concert. The concert was lovely. It was filled with great jazz music. But, a speech struck me the most. The speech wasn’t too eloquent. It was a “Thank you to you and you” kind of speech.

But, the word choice captivated me. The English major in me was truly impressed. Again, no, it wasn’t elegant by any extreme means, but it was genuine and thoughtful. As I listened to the speech and responded in my English nerd giddiness, I could not help but thank God for giving me this passion.

Mind you, though, someone did call me weird. And guess what? I am okay with that. I praise God that He instilled in me such a desire and love for all things words, vocabulary, and writing. I praise God I have a passion and a unique skill set.

I did not begin to realize the magnitude of the Lord’s graciousness in my life until I began to study communications. I did not realize it until my heart truly jumped for joy when I hear solid word choice and proper grammar. I did not realize how deeply rooted this gift was until I began to think about all the wonderful stories I have had the pleasure to read in my studies.

A joy and gratitude come with knowing God made you so intricately and intimately. If you don’t have that in your life, I encourage you to seek it out. I encourage you to ask God to plant desires in your heart. I encourage you to seek opportunities to discover your passions.

If you do know your passions, follow them. As cheesy and cliché as it is, follow them with all your heart. Seriously. You’ll know what I am talking about when you feel it. There is an abundant overflowing of wanting to know more and soak up the moment.

It is that moment even when you do something mundane, you can smile and say, “Thank you, God. Thank you for creating me.” It is that moment when you realize you are doing exactly what God intended.

Simply put. I love English. I love everything about it. I love reading it, hearing it, and studying it. I praise God for placing that desire in my heart and for continually giving me opportunities to make my heart jump with joy.

Blessings,

Renata

