“Hachi” Film: Why the Story Captivated My Heart

hachi-a-dogs-tale-wallpaper

A few weeks ago, I saw the movie “Hachi: A Dog’s Tale.” It is based on a true story about a dog named Hachi who walks his owner to and from the train station. His owner unexpectedly passes away. Yet, Hachi remains loyal to his owner and their tradition. He waits for his owner to come home until Hachi himself passes away.

This film was one of the saddest yet best movies I have ever seen. I bawled my eyes out whilst watching this movie. I am the weird person who enjoys sad—basically emotional—movies. I like these movies because they tell a story that often captivates your heart.

Emotional movies also help portray a beautiful image of Christ in my life. Hachi the dog reminded me much of Jesus Christ. In Deuteronomy 31:6, the Lord says, I will never leave you nor forsake you. Hachi’s loyalty to his owner was such a beautiful picture of God’s declaration in Deuteronomy 31:6.

I think the story of Hachi also captivated my heart because it reminded me of God’s love for us. Hachi loved his owner so much that he was willing to wait for him. Hachi baffled so many people by his loyalty. But, he also challenged them.

I think God’s love is the same way. It will always be there. It will be there even when we think it is long gone. Or, when we think it should be long gone. It will be there even when we walk away from Him. God’s love will continuously captivate hearts, challenge others to be more like Him, and simply baffle others at its awesomeness.

The movie Hachi taught me it is okay to cry. In fact, it is okay to bawl our eyes out. Goodness, even Jesus wept. Jesus knows us on every level possible, even on levels we cannot grasp or understand. Jesus knows every temptation, every fear, and every trial we could ever experience.

He is not some strange, distant person unable to relate. He is like Hachi. He is somebody who understands more than we ourselves will ever be able to fathom. I don’t think God made a mistake when He created dogs.

God is dog backward. It may be tacky to even discuss it, but it is true. Dogs are considered man’s best friend for a reason. Not every dog may be as loyal as Hachi was. But, God is abundantly more loyal and loving than all the dogs on this earth.

Talk about incredible. He is worthy of our praise.

Blessings,

Renata

Leave a Reply

