My Recent Vacation: Colorado Springs

img_0673

I recently went on vacation. I went to Colorado Springs to visit some friends. It was an absolutely wonderful trip. We slept in, enjoyed great food and drinks, and simply relaxed. I did not realize how much I needed a vacation until we got there.

The weather was warm your heart perfect fall weather. In Kansas, we don’t really get to experience fall. It lasts about four days to a week. Then, all the leaves fall, things turn brown, and winter sticks around for about five months. In Kansas, the only seasons we experience to their full extreme are summer and winter.

All this to say, though, it was a rarity for the trees to not change yet in Colorado Springs. The fall weather lingered longer than usual. I praise God He allowed us to see such beauty. Not only was the fall weather wonderful, so were the mountains. Kansas is the home of flatlands, so it is always a treat to see the mountains.

We did not hike the mountains or anything of that sort. However, we did hike the Red Rocks. We got a little lost along the way, but it made the experience that much sweeter. Plus, it was an added bonus to see beautiful scenery along the way.

Nearly everywhere we went, I took photos. I wanted to relish the moment, but also not forget it either. This was the first time since being married that I’ve stayed in one city for more than three days while on vacation. We went to two different places for our honeymoon and only took weekend trips until our vacation to Colorado Springs.

Needless to say, it was quite the experience to embrace a city or town for all it had to offer. The more time we spent there the more I enjoyed the area. It simply felt like a place I could call home if God ever led us there.

Not only did we experience Colorado Springs, but we also visited neighboring towns. We spent part of an afternoon in Manitou Springs. We went to a few shops and I even got myself a Colorado shirt! I figured after three different times in the state, I should get one.

My husband has family in the Denver area, so I even got to experience all that IKEA has to offer. Let me tell you…wow! That store sure can be exhausting. Yet, it is filled with limitless possibilities for design, which only made me want to have a house even more.

Unfortunately, we did not purchase anything, which probably would have made the time a bit more complete. Oh, well, we’ll just have to visit the location nearest us in Kansas City later.

Aside from seeing our friends, my favorite part of the trip was being able to tour the Olympic Training Center. As I’ve previously mentioned, one of my life goals is to attend a summer Olympics.

Knowing this, one can imagine how exciting it was for me to be there. I was like a 10-year-old kid in a candy store. Everything was so exciting and truly moved me. I definitely recommend the tour for anyone near Colorado Springs. Plus, all the proceeds in the TEAM USA shop go towards the athletes preparing for the games.

All in all, it was a wonderful trip. I could not have asked for a better vacation. It was such a blessing to see dear friends and share in fellowship with them. Without a doubt, we will go back again one day. I hope you enjoyed seeing the photos, too! Although, they do no justice for the captivating beauty of Colorado. Anyone who has ever been there will agree. Trust me.

I close with this: Each time I go to Colorado, I am reminded yet again why it is a frequent vacation spot for many Kansans. If you haven’t been there, go. See the mountains. See the leaves change color. Relish in the masterpiece that is God’s handiwork in the land. Go. Wander. Enjoy. Welcome to Colorful Colorado.

Blessings,

Renata

