Better Oversaid than Unsaid: I Love You

love-as-i-have-loved

My husband and I probably say I love you to each other at least thirty times a day. We are those people who want to hear I love you as many times as possible, even in the smallest, seemingly most mundane moments.

Even though we both receive and show love in different ways, we still want to hear the words I love you. There’s something so special about hearing the words I love you, even when you already know.

There’s always an opportunity to say I love you. Always. But, I am a word driven person. Even so, I tell everyone I know whom I truly love and appreciate that I love them. I will tell my siblings or my parents any chance I get, even if it’s just in a text asking how they are doing.

A lot of people may think I overuse it. But, I don’t think anyone can every over say it if he or she truly means it. I think even if someone’s love language isn’t words, they should still hear the words I love you. Maybe not as often as my husband and I tell each other throughout the day, but they should still hear it. It could be when they wake up or before they go to sleep even. At least once a day, if not more.

Love is a complicated, beautiful word. It’s complicated when someone says it and doesn’t mean it. It’s complicated when someone wants to hear it but it’s never said. Love is a complicated, beautiful word when we make it something of human flesh.

I think part of the reason why my husband and I say I love you to each other frequently is because we have the greatest example of love reigning in our hearts and lives each day—Jesus Christ, Our Savior, Redeemer, and Lord. It so simple to say I love you to another human when you have the love of God inside you.

Saying I love you to anyone important whom you truly value is the simplest way to show Jesus, especially to those who have words as their love language. Even more so, there isn’t one person in this world, in their right mind, who doesn’t want to be loved. Even the people who proclaim they want to live life alone and without a community want to be loved.

It’s in human nature to want to be appreciated, valued, and loved. We cannot escape that desire. We had it in us the moment God gave us a beating heart. He created us to be a people among other nations and peoples, not on our own.

I challenge you: Tell someone I love you. It doesn’t have to be a significant other. It can be a sibling, a friend, a parent, a grandparent, a coworker, etc. Say it and truly mean it. If you truly mean it, it should not matter who hears those words. Even if it may be uncomfortable, say it. This is coming from someone who cares so deeply about others, some days it physically hurts my heart to see them in pain.

Yes, I may be extra feelings driven. That’s how God created me to be. Regardless, the challenge still means something. I don’t challenge others to something unless I wholeheartedly believe in it myself. No matter how uncomfortable it may be, for the next week, just once each day (or more, if you’d like) tell someone you love him or her, even if you’ve told this person a million times before.

It never hurts to hear it again.

Blessings,

Renata

