A Good Week: I Chose to be Different

Good days vs bad days quote

This week has been a good one. I’ve realized that much of my blog talks about my bad weeks. To be honest, it makes sense to me. I’ve had quite the whirlwind of a year. A lot of unexpected, emotionally devastating events took place.

But, right now, I am in a somewhat calm part of life. I am having a good week. Yes, I still struggle with depression, but it isn’t consuming me. For now, it is slightly dormant. I know it could come back at any moment. Maybe even while I am writing this. But, for now, I am good.

This week has been good because it was the first time in a very long time I had a day off from work. Yes, I only work five days a week. But, it was the first time I took a day off because I could, not because I had to for a scheduled event or appointment. It was a sweet luxury.

This week has been good because I got to catch up with some dear friends I haven’t seen in quite a while. I knew that no matter what else happened, I had a worthwhile day off solely because I invested in people’s lives. I met them on a heart level.

This week has been good because I deep cleaned my home. Don’t get me wrong, I clean nearly every week to pick up things here or there. But, also, every month or so, I deep clean. It’s so refreshing for me to have a spotless home. I am a neat freak when I want to be.

This week has been good because I got to see family and spend time with them. I got to talk to those I love. I called someone I dearly love, whom I have gotten to know better the past year. I nourished a relationship I hold dear.

This week has been good because my husband is finally starting to consume food at a regular pace and amount. In fact, we even got to cook a meal together the other night! It was quite exciting to see my husband take another huge step in his recovery from his surgery.

This week has been good because I acknowledged a bottled up thought. I faced my fear and anxiety. I was honest with those whom I needed to be honest with. I no longer hid behind my doubts. I took a step in the right direction towards being upfront about my inner thoughts.

This week has been a good week for many more reasons. This week has taught me that sometimes we get so caught up in being adults that we forget to live. It’s natural for some adults like myself to gravitate towards focusing on the negative; towards simply doing.

I know this blog is quite different than my others. That’s the point.

This week I chose to be different. I chose to focus on the good. I chose to make it a good week. I don’t know if next week will be a good week. I really don’t. Nevertheless, I do have good weeks.

Quite frankly, I learn the most from the bad. Therefore, I write about it. Bear with me, please.

Blessings,

Renata

 

Leave a Reply

