Nearly a Year Later: Plans for a Book

VBL9L8AXHD

I have had my blog for nearly a year a now. It’s so crazy to think about this. I remember when I sat down to write the blog. Not the first time I said I would write a blog. But, the night I began typing my first blog post.

I was sitting on my air mattress. Yes, I own an air mattress. It became a staple in my college living. And I just started typing. In fact, within an hour of talking to my husband, then fiancé, I had a blog.

In nearly a year, I have had 50 posts. Fifty posts talking about my struggles, my joys, my expectations, my life lessons, and much more. Sometimes, I read my beginning posts and reflect on where I was not even a year ago. I cannot help but be amazed, sad, and overjoyed all at the same time.

As I look at each post, I remember exactly why I began the blog in the first place. I make sense of life through the written word. I want to share my experiences. I want to be an open journal of Jesus’ grace, redemption, and sweet truth.

I think it is absolutely important for people to be able to look back on their lives and see answered prayers, to see God working. I also think it is absolutely important for people to truthfully see their ups and downs in life. As I read each post, I can pinpoint exactly where I was in life when I published it.

I can see shifts in my attitude, beliefs, and experiences. I can see trying times of deep sorrow and despair. I can see a young woman who wants to be there for others in their time of need. I can see a young woman who wants to spread Jesus in the best way she knows how—through her own redemptive story.

I tell you all this to say, I will write an autobiographical book one day. If this blog has taught me anything, it is that I will write a book one day. Even if I never travel and share my testimony to a single soul, I will write a book. I tell you this to keep me accountable. Much like this blog, I have said I will start writing an autobiographical book numerous times.

However, I have never sat down to do it. To simply begin.

After tonight, I hope that will be different. I am still trying to understand what I will say and how, but I know it’s a deep desire of my heart. I will pursue it and by God’s will, I will hopefully achieve it.

Regardless of what happens in my life from now and then, I know Jesus will continue to work in me. He will continue to provide me opportunities and people to improve my grammar and writing. He will continue to provide opportunities to share in sweet fellowship with people and share my story. Most importantly, He will continue to mold me in His image.

I leave you with this, don’t be afraid to look back on your life. Life is a messy work of art worth sharing. Life is worth reflecting on. Even if you have tears, shame, and regret in the process, do it. You’ll never know what has gone on in your life if you never take the time to see just how far you’ve come.

And here’s to hoping in the next year, I have a chapter or two of my autobiographical book finished.

Blessings,

Renata

