His Grace Abounds: Come As You Are

Come As You Are

I firmly believe God can use anything and anyone to bring His children to Him. No, I don’t think there is some systematic equation or conversation that will instantly bring people to Him. Just as each of His children is wonderfully and fearfully made, every testimony and journey towards knowing Jesus is unique and of its own. No story is the same because no human life is the same.

I accepted Jesus because of the guidance, love, and sweet testament of my husband. He, among many other amazing individuals, played a pivotal role in the moment I accepted Jesus. Because life is not perfect and human beings are sinful, I know some people did not get to know Jesus through wonderful fellowship.

Worshipping God is an every day, every moment decision, not just a Sunday morning praise and worship music slot on the calendar. Nevertheless, I fully believe and live by the power of music and words to bring people to Jesus Christ, whether it be for the first time or the millionth.

Sometimes, in my weakest moments, music brings me back to God and motivates me to seek the truth in God’s Word. Other times, music is what reminds me of the seriousness of life without Jesus.

Worship music puts to words what I cannot express some days. It reminds me I am not alone. It reminds me others share the same confliction and joy. It reminds me God is real, He does exist. I am at a point in my life where listening to worship music is what reminds me why I love God and why I value my relationship with Him.

Right now, I have a song that truly speaks to where I am at in life, “How Can It Be?” by Lauren Daigle. The song puts in perspective the magnitude of the cross. It puts to words what myself, and I am sure many other believers, continue to baffle over.

The chorus declares:

You plead my cause
You right my wrongs
You break my chains
You overcome
You gave Your life
To give me mine
You say that I am free
How can it be?
How can it be?

Truly, truly we all say, “How Can It Be?” Lately, I’ve struggled to be at peace with some decisions I have made in the recent weeks. I am ashamed of who I have been and the little glory I have brought God. I really struggle to grasp and understand just how much God loves me in those moments, so much so that He died so I could live and be free in Him. Rightfully so, I am slowly learning that I will never truly understand the magnitude of the cross.

Right now, I find myself here:

I am guilty
Ashamed of what I’ve done, what I’ve become
These hands are dirty

I dare not lift them up to the Holy One

And I find myself here:

I’ve been hiding
Afraid I’ve let you down, inside I doubt
That You could love me
But in Your eyes, there’s only grace now

I am sure I have said it before, but it is so true.  I don’t know about you all, but I tend to focus on the short moments of setbacks than I do the leaps and bound of change and growth. Now, that isn’t to say that my setbacks were completely acceptable, but it is to say that His grace abounds far deeper than the sin and strife I currently face. Sometimes, it is so easy to forget, though.

Even though I find myself in a difficult spot, I choose to rest in His grace. Sin may rule my heart now and forever, but Jesus’ grace will abound far beyond my sin. Because I share a personal relationship with His Son, all God sees is Jesus—standing in my place—and His sweet limitless, perfect, surrendering grace.

I don’t know where you are in life, but I do know you are not alone. I am right there with you, dear brothers and sisters. If you are beating yourself up because you took two steps back after taking four bounds forward, forgive yourself. Cling to the cross and the One who saved you from all the darkness and despair you feel.

God does not ask us to come as perfect, spotless human beings. He asks us to come as we are with a repentant heart and patient spirit. If He wanted a perfect, spotless human being, we wouldn’t need Him in the first place.

It’s okay to be convicted. However, it’s not okay to let that conviction keep you from pursuing Christ. Instead of looking at this song, or whatever song or person or thing that may be the anchor of your self-destruction and disappointment, take it with praise and grace. Then, run to Him in prayer and seek the Truth.

Blessings,

Renata

Leave a Reply

