The Power of the Cross: No Greater Love

1_John_3_16-3840x2160-1-660x371When I got married, one of the vows I made was to stand by my husband’s side in sickness and in health. Recently, I got a real glimpse of what that truly meant. My husband was sick all last week. Actually, he’s still a little sick now. But, he is healthy enough to go to work and that such.

My husband is one of those people who gets sick a lot worse than most. His body does not know how to process a simple two day head-cold. Instead, his illness starts off as a small cold and almost always progresses into the flu. Simply put, he doesn’t have a good immune system. Growing up, he got sick quite often, and I don’t think his body ever fully bounced back.

Now, I knew all of this before marrying my husband. Therefore, it was no surprise to me when he was frail and tired for days on end. He only slept and drank tea. I couldn’t help but drop everything I was doing to care for him and provide for him. It broke my heart to see him in such a weak state.

To tell you truth, not even a day after being sick, he was tired of being sick. I am sure many of you know exactly how that feels. Everyone reaches that point when doing anything but laying around sounds amazing, when having energy sounds amazing, when not being confined to your home sounds amazing, when real food sounds amazing. You get the point. However, amid all that, I learned one of the greatest lessons about Jesus Christ.

As I sat and watched my husband sleep, I thought to myself, “Wow, I couldn’t love you more than I do this very moment.” In his weakest moments, I loved him more than ever before. I couldn’t help but think, “Wow! That is exactly how Jesus Christ views His children.” Jesus Christ loved His children so much that He died on the cross. Doing so was not easy. But in the moments of death, He still loved us. In His weakest moments, He still loved us. He still trusted in God.

I never fully comprehended the power of the cross until I saw my frail husband sleeping. I don’t think I will ever fully understand the depth of the cross, but I do have a clearer picture now of exactly what He did. There is no greater love. Even in my husband’s weakest moments, whether physically, emotionally, mentally, or spiritually, I still love him. I will stand by him, not only because I vowed to, but it is the call Christ set for me.

To think that I still love my husband in those moments, makes me realize just how much God loves us. The cross is the symbol of His death for our life. I hope and pray that my heart may overwhelm with gratitude and thankfulness towards the Father when I think of the cross, much like it did when I watched my husband sleep. What I felt in that moment was only a minuscule amount of God’s love for those of this earth.

I think we so easily downgrade the loftiness of God’s love and mercy. We tend to think, “Oh, there’s no way He will love me after this.” or “Oh, how can He truly love me that much?” But, let me tell you, if I learned anything this past week, it is His love is very real and active. It does not waver or fail. It is constant and true. The death and resurrection of His Son is living proof.

As John 15:13 says, “Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.” Dear brothers and sisters, we are those exact friends to Jesus! What a friend we have in Him! The love we have towards others is a gift from the greatest love we could ever know. Cling to the cross, friends.

If you are having trouble grasping God’s love and the cross, today or any day, I challenge you to look at those you love most, and put your love for them in words. Remind yourself why it is you love that person, even in their weakest moments. Then, look to the cross and realize the love you feel towards that person you are thinking of, is only a morsel of how much Christ loves you.

Blessings,

Renata

 

Leave a Reply

