The Two Glasses of Worry and Trust

“And who of you by being worried can add a single hour to his life?” – Matthew 6:27.

I am a self-proclaimed worry-wart. Often times, I think I spend more time worrying about this or that than I do trusting God. If you think that sounds extremely straight forward and you have a hard time swallowing those words, good. That was my point.

I worry the most when I am in a new environment and see the potential of failure and rejection. For example, if I befriend someone, enter a different workplace, or start a semester, I worry A LOT. For some, those moments may seem trivial and minuscule, but to me they are monumental. If I had to pinpoint an event in my life that began my worrisome behavior, it would be the day I was born. On my birthdate, my biological mother left me in the hospital before a nurse took me to a local orphanage in Russia.

I have spent YEARS trying to overcome the rejection I felt. Though I do not actually remember the day I was born, I do know what occurred in my life. However, the true repercussions of my mother leaving me in a hospital are for another day and another time. I mention this occurrence, though, to show why it is so valuable for people to be honest with themselves.

Because I “think” I know what causes my worries, I tend to believe I am better off than most who cannot say the same. However, I could not be more incorrect in my philosophy. In fact, that is selfish and prideful of me to think my biological mother is to blame for my tendency to dwell. She may be a contributing factor, as Satan constantly leads me to believe, but she is not the ultimate reason. Honestly, the true person to blame for my worrisome behaviors and attitudes is me. Only me.

Just as blaming others for my worry is selfish, so is the act of worrying! When we worry, we turn our eyes away from God. Just as His Word says in Matthew, we do not benefit our lives by worrying. All we do is betray God. We say, “God, your promises, your Word, and your forever faithfulness are not good enough for me.” The moment we begin to worry, we rely on our own strength and not God’s to carry us through life.

As a fairly new believer still, fully trusting God in EVERY season of life is extremely challenging. As much as I would love to write, “I fully trust God in every season of life,” I do not all the time. However, I do know He is in control, ultimately. Although it may take me no time at all or days to believe this Truth in some trials, and even joys of life, I know He is in control. Although that may be the reality of my walk with Christ now, I continuously challenge myself to believe in His promises without ceasing. I challenge myself to believe them of every moment of every day. One day, with God’s gracious power, I will be able to say, “I fully trust Him always because, ‘I am confident of this very thing, that He who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Christ Jesus.’” — Philippians 1:6. In God’s perfect timing, I will no longer struggle with this. He is not finished with me yet! Brothers and sisters, you are not alone. No one’s walk with Jesus is perfect. If it was, we would not need to lean on Him.

Picture this: There are two glasses. One is three-quarters full of worry and the other is half full with trust in God. For every moment that we worry, we take more trust away from God. May we spend our entire lives making the cup of trust overflow and make the glass of fear and uncertainty run dry.

Blessings,

Renata

Leave a Reply

