Overcoming & Understanding Loneliness

“Why do I write? It’s not that I want people to think I am smart, or even that I am a good writer. I write because I want to end my loneliness.” – Jonathan Safran Foer

Guys, I am telling today has been a rough day in regards to writing a blog post. I am struggling to overcome a problem I face every now and again as an introvert—loneliness. Ironically enough, writing is exactly what I need to do overcome it some days. It may seem like an oxymoron for an introvert to be lonely, but it can happen. Much of my week, I have been homebound, due to my car being in the shop. Considering I moved recently, I have more than enough tasks to choose from to keep me from being lonely. But really, that is not it at all.

Believe it or not, there are times I yearn to be around people. It probably happens a couple times a month, in no real visible pattern. It just happens. Sometimes it is two days in a row, others it is for only part of a day. Nevertheless, today is one of those days. I yearn to be in fellowship in some way. Once I reach the point where I yearn for human connect, all motivation to complete necessary tasks is lost on me. Typically, I love to do the dishes. I find it very soothing to wash dishes by hand. But, in my current state, not even doing dishes sounds appealing.

Incredibly enough, I think my desire for human contact as a common introvert really says a lot about God and His creation, and the human body itself. Yes, we are all wired more dominantly one way, while not so dominantly in others. Yes, we get it. However, despite what some people may believe, they can have their minor tendencies flourish and show—but only for a moment before the well-oiled machine of our human body works like new again. Knowing that alone, shows that we can be compassionate towards others in most situations. Not all, but most. Most of the time, at least in a molecular-like sense, we can relate with others that may not be like us. Because much of humanity works in the same nature, it is not completely absurd to relate on a polar opposite level.

I know that come tomorrow I will wake up anew and be content with my introverted ways. However, for the time being, I will relish in the moment of wanting something that my body usually doesn’t agree with. I will relish in the beauty of the human body that God gave me. I will take this day to learn more about others that may not be like me through my own current actions and behaviors. Lastly, I will take this day to sweetly think about someone else out there who may be curiously experiencing my typical human traits.

Blessings,

Renata

Leave a Reply

