I Cling to You, Always

cling to you; your right hand upholds me.” – Psalm 63:8

The past couple of weeks have probably been some of the hardest on me financially since I moved out almost three years ago. You know, it is crazy just HOW MUCH money we need to live from day-to-day. It is funny how the second we think our bank accounts are working towards filling up, another life event snatches it all away. Though it seems as if I am doing nothing but paying bill after bill, I am content and I am at peace.

In Matthew 11:28, the LORD said, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” It is an incredible feeling to know I can give all my financial worries away to God. Of all topics in the Bible, God frequently talks about not loving money the most. In fact, Hebrews 13:5 states, “Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, ‘Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.’” Now, THAT is some amazing TRUTH. Though I have spent much of my week, doing what any dutiful adult should do, I have done so with gratefulness and contentment.

This past week has taught me that God really does know what He is talking about, and exactly what He was doing when He created the earth and everything in it. I am sure some of you are reading this and going, “Duh, of course He does. He is God!” But, have you really thought about just how awesome it is to know God will always care for you, and that someone else has already done all the gritty hard work of figuring out life?! In my most recent marriage counseling session, I learned word for word—with no doubt or question in my mind—exactly what role I am supposed to play in my upcoming marriage. I do not know about you, but that was such a RELIEF to me. I do not view following God’s commands with how to live my life, whether it is in my future marriage, with my money, my actions towards others, and my actions towards myself as rules and regulations. No, in fact, I gladly, graciously, and humbly bow before my God ready to follow Him. Following His commands is just another way I can express how much I love Him.

He is worthy of all my praise, for He is the Creator and Sustainer of the earth. No matter how much I try to be my own sustainer and comforter, I cannot and will not be able to do so according to God’s standards. It is a comforting feeling to know that I will never go through life alone because I have God. In fact, I do not have to go through life alone! He does not want me to! He tells us to COME. No level of success, money, power, or human love will ever compare to how MUCH God cares for me. I know that not everyone reading this may be a Christian believer. I am not writing this post to stand on my soapbox and be a Bible thumper. No, I am writing this because I LOVE sharing the hope and security I have in Jesus. I can go to bed tonight just before I get my next paycheck, and know that financially making it through this past week was possible ONLY because of Jesus. I know not everyone has financial problems, and I get that. However, no problem is too big for the Almighty Father.

Blessings,

Renata

Leave a Reply

